Wishing Everyone a Happy Spring with Felted Birds

Today is the official beginning of Spring!  The spring equinox happened while I was sleeping.  It is bright, sunny, and very warm outside;  I just love spring!

I’ve been taking advantage of the mostly mild weather here and have been gardening with my children all week.  After disturbing the soil and returning indoors, I peek out the window to see the robins flock towards the disturbed rough dirt to peck at the scurrying insects!  I suppose that is what inspired this little felted robin in a baby blue egg shell. The American Robin is actually not a robin at all.  It was named after the European Robin that has a similarly red-colored belly.  The robin I’ve seen throughout my whole life, is actually a member of the thrush family!  I thought I’d throw in a little education along with my cute felted bird!

needle felt bird for Easter

Here are just a few more of my felted spring birds.  The baby chick is actually posing amongst chickweed.  And chickens eat chickweed, hence the name.  It is one of the first plants to take over my yard this time of year
and it’s edible as well.  I don’t even have to yell at my kids for putting it in their mouth!

handmade Easter chick toy

The felted hen with chick are sitting in front of some massive wheat grass.  I know you can’t see it in the photo, but that wheat grass is out of control.  I grind wheat sometimes for homemade bread, and I tossed a handful of wheat berries on my lawn and they took off like crazy.  I have these tall bright green patches amongst an otherwise desolate lawn!

needle felt birds for Easter
I’m pretty much just chatting at this point.  So I guess I will end with a “Happy Spring Everyone”!!!!!

Leave a comment